Skip to content

Flying Lotus Unveils New Album ‘Flamagra’


Flying Lotus recently unveiled brand-new album ‘Flamagra‘.

After a five-year-long hiatus, FlyLo finally released his much awaited album and has fans going berserk!

The sixth studio album by the American producer, DJ, songwriter & filmmaker was released on May 24th, 2019.

Sprawling with deep cosmic textures and imaginative beat work, with some eclectic guest appearances in his most scattered and cinematic ambitious album yet.

Flying Lotus stays true to his style and originality, which wavers from anywhere between pop, electronic, experimental, dance music, hip-hop, funk, jazz, tribal poly-rhythms and is forever filled with surprises.

His music is not for the commercial space music industry and is a niche in itself which he has carved with great dexterity.

Most folks may find his music unappealing which is more of an acquired taste that tends to grow on you the more you listen to it.

He has even released a couple of videos to accompany his album such as, ‘More‘ feat. Anderson. Paak and ‘Fire Is Coming’ feat. David Lynch the acclaimed director.

The album can be described as spontaneous, catchy and warm, gathered along during the five year long break.

Thematically, the album was built around the concept of fire, an eternal flame that is sitting on a hill.

It is his longest album yet at 27 tracks, 1 hour and 7 minutes long its big and complex.

With its vast variety of soundscapes, it bounces from anywhere between jazz to pure electronic break-beat music.

It doesn’t let you get settled into one genre, this even seeps into his videos that he has made for the album.

For instance, the video with David Lynch is more of a narrative based spoken words based piece – creepy, weird, eerie, strange, theatrical with instrumental embellishments happening behind David Lynch’s vocals in the background, which is kind of twisted and manipulative because the closer you get to the end of the track the tempo increases and you wonder if this track is going to segway into the next track on the album.

Whilst the album has all the ambition, I think it kind of lacks the same concise vision as his previous albums.

The album can jump from tone to tone pretty jarringly on quite a few occasions.

Some tracks feel a bit inessential, giving you the feeling he has punched under his weight a bit.

Tracks could have been cut short or some not included at all, such as the inclusion of the track ‘FF4’ seemed inessential to the album.

Some tracks on the album don’t feel like they belong, making the album feel a bit bloated and tiring.

It was difficult to understand why an artist of such great stature, would release something which would seem like he was just trying to see what would stick.

I never really felt that one track is bouncing or flowing off of the momentum of the previous song.

Having said that, Flamagra has some great moments, the main being for me the track with Anderson Paak.

The track ‘More’ is just perfect, the beats, the tight baselines and the drums everything falls right into place.

The track with Takaashi is the longest, but hits all the right notes and the elements fall right into place.

Two other tracks which I personally liked are Andromeda and black balloons which are succinct and beautiful.

The album is one of the most precious embody of works, which is still a very impressive work of art.

Flamagra is available to stream below and can be purchased in digital and vinyl copies here.

Tell us what your thoughts were on the album in the comments below and make sure to register with us!

Flying Lotus would be touring mid august, below are the tour dates :



9 – 11 – San Francisco, CA – Outside Lands

10 – Portland, OR – Roseland

11 – Seattle, WA – Showbox Sodo

12 – Boise, ID – Knitting Factory

14 – Missoula, MT – The Wilma

15 – Salt Lake City, UT – Union

16 – Denver, CO – The Mission Ballroom

17 – Taos, NM – Taos Vortex

18 – Oklahoma City, OK – Tower Theatre

20 – Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue

21 – Madison, WI – The Sylvee

24 – Detroit, MI – Royal Oak Music Theatre

25 – Toronto, ON – Danforth Music Hall

26 – Montreal, QC – Corona Theatre

27 – Boston, MA – House Of Blues

29 – Philadelphia, PA – Franklin Music Hall

30 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Mirage

31 – North Adams, Ma – Mass MoCA


02 – Columbus, Oh – Express Live

03 – Pittsburgh, PA – Stage Ae

04 – Nashville, TN – Marathon Music Works

05 – Cincinnati, Oh – Madison Theater

06 – Charlotte, NC – The Fillmore

07 – Richmond, VA – The National

10 – Raleigh, NC – The Ritz

11 – Atlanta, GA – Variety Playhouse

12 – New Orleans, LA – Joy Theater

13 – Houston, TX – Warehouse Live

14 – Austin, TX – Emo’s

15 – Dallas, TX – South Side Ballroom

18 – Phoenix, AZ – The Van Buren

19 – San Diego, CA – House Of Blues

20 – Los Angeles, CA – The Novo

IDAMOS SYSTEMS Administrator

We are the worlds first and only music website from India supporting all genres of music. Our aim is simple, to provide support and be at the forefront of ushering the music scene into a new era. Services Offered: Artist Promotion, Album Reviews, Record Label Promotion, Event Promotion & E-Ticket Vendors.

Leave a Comment

Open chat
Need help?
Howdiee! 👋
How can we help? We're here for you! 😃